Kale Smoothies. Breakfast Quinoa. Vegan Month of Food.

Saturday rolls around and my body is ready for the slow & lazy weekend of time spent catching up with loved ones, but for us city dwellers who are bound by September 1st leases – Labor Day is all about movement.

It has been a year & a summer since I graduated from college and I am in disbelief that I am moving to a new home. This year, my life is process. It is about finding space & openness in tight moments. As I am packing up my books, kitchen utensils, and bedding, I am caught thinking about all the unforgettable memories shared in this house – from early morning tea on the porch with visitors to small dinner potlucks with close friends to late night vegan parties with music, laughter, and love.

This September, I am filled with gratitude for all the beautiful people who have been in my life this year – cheering me on, holding me up during the moments I am most vulnerable. As I drive away from my old house for the last time I am thinking about a conversation with a loved one, where we talked about the meaning of homeHome, for us travelers & wanderers, being something that we make from our bodies – from thin air – from smoke, and late night dancing, and early morning solitude.

Today, I am thinking about how experimentation and spontaneity are essential life forces. The unexpected, being what humbles and grounds me in the present. This morning, the 4:00 am alarm is calling my tired limbs from bed. I drive my partner to the airport, but he ends up taking my keys with him to Texas and all I can do is laugh.

It is 5:00 am and I am waiting for my roommates to wake-up so that I can get into the house. I am sitting on the deck and scrolling through my phone for the 10 best ways to break into your own home. At some point, I give in to the messiness of this morning – the unexpected – and as I sit I can feel the situation opening up. My mind slowly easing its grip on the situation and my frustration until I am able to see it is another event in the week – an opportunity for growth & learning.

I would have (of course) preferred not to have been locked out, but the situation is. In my head, there are so many to-do-lists that they are starting to look like a notepad, a novel, an ancient tome.

I am slowly walking back from attachment, from my fixation on what I think should be. This month, is Vegan Month of Food & I can feel the slow growing anxiety about trying to make 20 recipes, but when I take a step back. Slow down. Breath. Be present in this morning. Be present in the slow rise of the sun & water peeling way from grass.

I can feel my body waking up with the earth – with the here & now.

– Sweet Kale Smoothie –

 Kale Smoothie

ingredients.
– 1 yellow plantain, chopped
– 1 guava, peeled & seeded
– two handfuls of kale
– 1 tsp chlorella
– 2 tsp chia seeds
– 1 tsp maca powder
– 2 tbs golden flax seeds
– 1/4 cup almonds
– 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
– 1/4 cup almond milk
– 24 oz water

Kale, Guava, Plantains

DSC_0629

process.
In a blender, place yellow plantain, guava, two handfuls of kale. Add chia seeds, maca powder, flax seeds, almonds, sunflower seeds, almond milk, and water. Blend until smooth. Enjoy!

– Almond & Strawberry Breakfast Quinoa –

Quinoa Breakfast

ingredients.
– 1 cup quinoa

– 2 cups almond milk
– 2 tbs brown sugar
– 2 tsp cinnamon 
– 1/4 cup chopped almonds, pistachios, and/or cashews
– sprinkle of flax seeds
– handful of fresh fruit (I used strawberries)

DSC_0245

process.
In a small pot, place quinoa and almond milk. Bring to boil. Reduce to simmer & cover for 15-20 minutes. Once the almond milk is mostly cooked into the quinoa, mix in the brown sugar and cinnamon. Cook for 15-20 more minutes until almond milk is completely cooked into quinoa. 

DSC_0252

Remove from heat and serve with fresh fruit and flax seeds. Add vegan butter, coconut, or more almond milk (if you like)!

3 thoughts on “Kale Smoothies. Breakfast Quinoa. Vegan Month of Food.

  1. Mandee

    This looks so delicious and healthy 🙂

    And don’t stress about VeganMoFo, it’s all about having fun, so focus on that and not the number of posts 😉

    Reply

Leave a comment